By the Numbers: 17 Years of the Planet Series of Poker (WSOP) at the Rio

By the Numbers: 17 Years of the World Series of Poker (WSOP) at the Rio


The poker planet has reached the end of an era with the World Series of Poker (WSOP) concluding its final bracelet occasion at the Rio All-Suite Hotel &amp Casino.

Next summer season, the series will move down the road to the Las Vegas Strip, the initial time the WSOP will take spot anywhere but the Rio considering that 2004, when it was hosted at Binion’s downtown.

On June three, 2005, Anthony Nguyen shipped the $500 Casino Staff No-Limit Hold’em tournament, the 1st bracelet ever won at the Rio, owned at the time by Harrah’s Entertainment, which later became Caesars Entertainment. Allen Cunningham was the very first player to win an open bracelet occasion at the close to-Strip property, getting taken down a $1,500 NLH tournament two days after Nguyen’s win.

The final bracelet won at the Rio, out of the 1,030 total awarded, occurred on Tuesday, with Boris Kolev winning Occasion #88: $five,000 8-Handed No-Limit Hold’em, exactly 6,019 days given that the off-Strip casino first opened its doors to the World Series of Poker.

In among the first champion and the final winner there have been a lot more memorable moments than we can count. But we did dig up some interesting stats on the WSOP in the course of the Rio era, starting with the G.O.A.T. of the WSOP, Phil Hellmuth, who is unsurprisingly the only player to win a lot more than five bracelets at the Caesars-owned resort.

Hellmuth, who won his 16th bracelet final month in Event #31: $1,500 No-Limit two-7 Lowball Draw, collected six shiny gold bracelets at the Rio. 4 other people won 5, and they are listed as follows:

Player Rio Bracelets Last Rio Bracelet
Phil Hellmuth six 2021
Shaun Deeb 5 2021
Brian Rast five 2021
Brian Hastings five 2021
Jason Mercier 5 2016

Legends Make History at the Rio

Doyle Brunson

Doyle Brunson and Johnny Chan‘s greatest accomplishments were behind them by the time the WSOP left Binion’s following the 2004 series. But they each and every produced history at the mega resort.

For the duration of the very first month the series took place at the Rio in 2005, Chan became the first player ever to attain 10 bracelets when he shipped a $2,500 pot-limit hold’em tournament. Four days later, Brunson reached the double-digit bracelet plateau by taking down a $5,000 no-limit hold’em event. Neither player has given that won a WSOP title, though they each nevertheless compete in the occasional bracelet event.

Hellmuth would catch up the following summer time in a $1,000 no-limit hold’em tournament, and then win his 11th in 2007, a record no one particular else has since accomplished. Phil Ivey is the only other player to win 10 bracelets, but only 4 occurred at the Rio. The Poker Hall of Famer won his 10th in 2014 when he took down a $1,500 eight-game mix tournament.

Negreanu’s Mixed Bag of Final results

Daniel Negreanu

There are two ways to analyze Daniel Negreanu‘s functionality in bracelet events at the Rio. The initial is for these who look at championships as the measuring stick for player accomplishment. And the other appears at the general body of operate (titles, final table appearances, cashes, awards, and so on.).

Because 2008, Negreanu hasn’t won a single bracelet at the Rio, though he won two overseas in 2013. But he’s reached 26 final tables — two in the previous handful of days — at the Las Vegas casino over that span, which is impressive in itself. The GGPoker ambassador won his lone bracelet at the Rio in 2008, and has considering that gone -7 when heads-up for a bracelet.

Daniel Negreanu’s Most Thoughts-Boggling WSOP Stat at the Rio

Master of the Min-Cash

Roland Israelashvili

Roland Israelashvili has developed a single of the most intriguing poker careers ever. With 304 cashes in WSOP and WSOP Circuit events, he holds the all-time record, but he’s never ever won a bracelet, despite the fact that he does have eight circuit rings.

At the Rio, Israelashvili racked up 131 cashes, a lot more than anybody in history. But he did so with no winning a bracelet, by no means reaching heads-up for a bracelet, and only reaching 3 final tables. He’s the consummate min-casher, maybe even a lot more so than Allen Kessler.

Major Event Champions and Winning Bracelets

Chippy the WSOP Mascot with 2017 Main Event Winner Scott Blumstein

Winning poker’s most prestigious annual occasion doesn’t necessarily mean you happen to be a wonderful player. Because 2005, the WSOP has crowned 17 distinct world champions, and only 4 of these winners have a number of bracelets — Joe Cada (4), Joe McKeehen (three), Jonathan Duhamel (three), and Greg Merson (two).

In total, the WSOP champs in the Rio era have won just eight bracelets outdoors of the Main Event. Going back even additional, none of the champs from 2002-2004 — Robert Varkonyi, Chris Moneymaker, or Greg Raymer — have won a second bracelet. Times positive have changed because the 1990s and earlier when Main Occasion champs had been typically a number of-time bracelet winners.